The Beginning of the End of the Greatest Year of my Life

It was Sunday, August 23, 2009. Two days before my very first day of college and one day before I was going to head over to the community college I was set to attend and get my financial aid set up.

That Sunday was also the day before my girlfriend, Bekki, was set to begin her sophomore year of high school. She was 15 and I was twenty-seven days away from turning 18-years-old. She and I had spent the last three months, since about Sunday, May 3, 2009, talking each and every single night until sunrise. Her dad was supposed to take her phone away from her during the week since those were school nights, but we were supposed to be able to talk at night again on the weekends. We had this natural chemistry between us that allowed us to talk about any and everything in the world. This was going to be a tough tradition to break.

Bekki’s parents didn’t like me. They never even gave me a chance to begin with. They saw a 2-year/7-month age difference as too strong of a discrepancy for a relationship. But Bekki always managed to find a way to call me.

She and I had been together for 11 months by that point and were nearing our one year anniversary. It was an exciting and nervous time, for me, anyway. I was only going to go to the local community college, but it was going to be a big change in my life, and I was so used to talking to Bekki every day that I was not susceptible to the abrupt changes in our relationship. I had made the mistake of making her my world. I relied on her too much. I didn’t realize it at the time, but this mistake was going to prove to be colossal in the long run, and it was going to bite me in the ass since I was on the precipice of becoming needy and clingy. To be fair and objective about this, she was, too. We both relied on each other for support.

1

That night, at 11:30, she called me, even though she wasn’t supposed to. She’d switched the SIM cards from her new phone to her old phone. Her parents had no clue. We talked until around 1 or 2 in the morning. I was elated to talk to her, since I didn’t think we’d be able to that night.

The next day, I received my grant money for financial aid and Bekki’s first day of her sophomore year was a success. Things were great. It looked like it was going to be a great school year for the both of us.

As the days became shorter and the weather colder, things changed. Even though life was amazing in August 2009, and I had just capped off my senior year of high school a couple of months earlier as well as the best summer of my life, the phrase “nothing lasts forever” came into play and reality decided to play a little game of “bite yee in thy ass”.

One thought on “The Beginning of the End of the Greatest Year of my Life

  1. Pingback: Autumn Foreshadows the Short, Dark Days of Winter | Sogna Grandezza

Leave a Reply

