The Dilemma of Loving Hot Showers

I’ve been thinking about converting to solely taking cold showers for a while now. This idea was first planted in my head back in January 2012 when I tried out a shower that was barely lukewarm. My scalp wasn’t as itchy and my skin wasn’t as dry. The problem is, I love hot showers and the way the warmth feels, how comfortable it is and how relaxing they can be.

Problem is? I have dry skin and some kind of irritating case of either psoriasis or seborrheic dermatitis where I get red, rashy, blotchy patches on my face. I cure this by using coconut oil as a moisturizer and it goes away, but it’s irritating to have to use coconut oil as a facial moisturizer on a daily basis.

Cold showers can also have a solid effect on testosterone levels considering excessive heat on the ol’ boys can have detrimental effects on sperm.

But damn it, I love hot showers!

Leave a Reply

