Monster Energy’s New Muscle Milkshakes

After months of waiting for Monster Energy’s new protein milkshake “Muscle” drink line to come around to my area (since I basically live in the middle of nowhere), I spotted the flavors yesterday, and I picked up two vanillas, one chocolate and one coffee.

I tried the vanilla yesterday — absolutely delicious. For 200 calories in a total can, you get 25 grams of pure protein via unfiltered skim milk (and what I presume to also be partly 1% reduced fat milk) in the form of casein protein as well as 152 mg of caffeine per can. This is the best thing Monster has came out with since its Rehab series in 2011. This gives Monster an edge over Rockstar and Redbull since nobody else in the energy drink business is doing this. It’s a damned delicious source of protein for active individuals, and hell, I think I could get my 62-year-old mother to drink this with a breakfast featuring bacon and eggs, because it would really be the perfect protein source to her day, especially if I get her to take supplements like vitamin D3 and vitamin K2 with it, since Monster Muscle contains 50% of the RDA value of calcium, and the combination of D3 and K2 with the calcium will direct it where it needs to go: bones/teeth. I digress.

monstermuscle1

I give the new Monster Muscle drinks a 10/10. I’ll be buy a lot more on Saturday. I haven’t tried the coffee flavor yet, but I’m drinking the chocolate one now, and it’s absolutely stellar. I love it. I’m getting ready to go and do some bodyweight exercises in about a half hour or so from now, and while caffeine doesn’t hit me like it used to (after four years and five months of constant caffeine consumption, that’s what happens), it at least wakes me up, and who can complain about a delicious source of 25 grams of protein and 20 grams of carbs at only 200 calories? It’s amazing, especially for athletes. Sedentary individuals? Eh…

Casein protein is slow digesting protein compared to, say, whey protein, so it will stay in your body for a few more hours than what you might think.

I’m impressed, Monster.

Now I can only hope that Sam’s Club will put these out into a 24-count case. I’d easily buy 2-3 cases of them.

2 thoughts on “Monster Energy’s New Muscle Milkshakes

  1. Pingback: I Love Monster Muscle | Sogna Grandezza

  2. Be careful with these ones. I drank them for a month everyday before work and all the sudden started getting a real tightness in my throat and it felt like food was stuck at the top of my esophagus all day long. I couldn’t figure out what was happening. Then I coincidentally stopped drinking those particular energy drinks because I was trying to save money and it all went away. I don’t know exactly what that drink did to my throat, but it was bad. I decided to try it again just to check. Had one per day three days in a row. Feelings back. Done with these for good. They sure do taste good though.

Leave a Reply

