Thank You, Mom

I love my mom.

I tell her that every day, even though sometimes my actions don’t match the phrase.

She’s gone on vacation with her sister/my aunt (who might as well be my second mother), and despite being a person that enjoys his alone time greatly, I miss her, and she’s only been gone for two days.

Next Thursday I’ll be 22-years-old, which means my mom has put up with my bullshit for a grand total of that many years. That’s a long time to put up with someone else, over two decades and all. My father passed away when I was 12, and at that time my mom took over as the provider, just she and I, struggling to get through days because we’d lost the rock of our little family. But she was strong.

When I was a junior in high school, my mom started working as a secretary at a local clinic (March 2008). At the age of 56, she’d returned to the workforce, which can’t be an easy thing to do after being a stay at home mom for 17-18 years at that point. Every day she came home tired. She kept working until 2012, at the age of 60, when her mother/my grandmother, passed away.

My mom is one of the strongest people I’ve ever known, and the best mother anybody could ever ask for.

This is today’s WordPress Daily Prompt, and I know this piece isn’t bestseller worthy nor noteworthy in general as an article, but the prompt states to write about something you are thankful for since the internet is full of rants. I’m thankful for my mom, everything she does, and certainly proud of who she is and the amazing woman that she’s always been. I love you, mom.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Leftover Ramen | Daily Prompt: Thank You | likereadingontrains
  2. To Jinnah, with respect. | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  3. Thanking You | The Magic Black Book
  4. Thanks For The Flowers | The Ambitious Drifter
  5. Daily Prompt: Thanks (a 9/11 Tribute to our first responders) | Gotham Chick
  6. Daily Prompt: Thank You | Under the Monkey Tree
13 thoughts on “Thank You, Mom

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Thank You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Many Thanks | Motherhood and Beyond

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Thank You | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: A day to give thanks | Life & Times

  5. Pingback: Thank you | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Flying On Empty Thoughts | Daily Prompt: Thank You

  7. Pingback: Thank you, Thank you… Did I say thank you yet? | Okay, what if ?

  8. Pingback: I say today is about peace. | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Muito Obrigada! | 3rdculturechildren

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Thank You | Joe's Musings

  11. Loved this post and printing it off for my 15 soon to be 16 behaving like 30 year old son to read when he gets home from school. Hope your mom knows how much she is loved. Great “noteworthy” piece.

Leave a Reply

