Drawing and Painting

I could never draw or paint worth a damn growing up. I still can’t. But at least I tried back then, in Elementary school, drawing my favorite things around the time, like St. Louis Rams and Miami Dolphins football helmets, professional wrestlers like Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock (Dwayne Johnson) and Triple H, and other miscellaneous things.

A girl I dated for a few years had this talent of being able to draw and paint oh so well. I envied that talent she had and let her know on a daily basis that she had a serious talent and encouraged that in her. But the fact of the matter is, my hands — my fingers — are far too shaky and the sheer concentration, time and patience it takes is taxing. “Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard”, they say, and I believe it wholeheartedly, but regardless of how much practice is put into a true artform like drawing and/or painting, a natural talent and true affinity for it cannot be topped.

I’ll stick to writing (not that I’m anything special when it comes to typing a few words, but I’ve always had a knack for it), but I’ll admire the beautiful work of others from afar.

This post was prompted by the WordPress Daily Post.

Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect?

by michelle w. on September 22, 2013

Tell us about a talent you’d love to have… but don’t.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TALENT.

Please note that comments are always closed on daily prompts. Pingbacks are always enabled; if you link to the prompt post on your blog, a link to your post will appear in the list below the prompt.

Like this:

54 COMMENTS

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Invisibility | Godrick Gnomish
  2. Just Noise (Depapepe Fan) | Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | likereadingontrains
  3. Time for tea | Markovich Arts
  4. Inside the crate staring out | We Live In A Flat
  5. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? « Mama Bear Musings
  6. Moods and melody | Crossroads
  7. I wish I could sing | Motherhood and Beyond
  8. A Daily Prompt Poem: Talent « Vicariously Poetic
  9. I’m not just whispering for the sake of it. It’s for your benefit too. | thoughtsofrkh
  10. Talent? Maybe. Or How to Burn Water. « RPMAS
  11. Oh, For The Joy To Play Anything | The Jittery Goat
  12. Daily Prompt – practice makes perfect | Kate Murray
  13. Practice Hard | crookedeyebrows
  14. I sing because I’m happy. I sing because I’m free….. | mostlytrueramblings
  15. Have A Talent? | Tony’s Texts
  16. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect! | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  17. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Practive Makes Perfect
  18. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? 22|9 | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  19. Talent? Nothing You Could Bank On. | The Ambitious Drifter
  20. Flying On Empty Thoughts | Shaking All Over
  21. Fall. — Color it in…One Piece at a Time | mommyverbs
  22. A Dream Unfinished | Flowers and Breezes
  23. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  24. I love to singa! | Neva Samaki
  25. Ah! To be a Siren, a Mermaid… | alienorajt
  26. the UNCATEGORISED | Practice Makes Perfect? | the TRASH BASH
  27. Art Class | Conversations
  28. Singing my heart out?or atleast trying! | Life Confusions
  29. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | Thoughts & Reflections
  30. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | bloobloons
  31. 181. I Know it’s There Somewhere | Barely Right of Center
  32. Practice Makes Perfect? | Khana’s Web
  33. Talented Statue | Travel with Intent
  34. Talent | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  35. Practice Makes Perfect | lifebeinggirly
  36. The Artist | Barefoot in Paris
  37. Talent: A Letter to my Followers | The Magic Black Book
  38. If I Were Artistically Inclined… | Creative Mysteries
  39. Let’s talk … | Rock it classy
  40. Baking in Paper | JC Bride ~
  41. Daily Prompt: Practice makes perfect | Steve Says….
  42. RV » Talent?
  43. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect | My Endless Rants & Ramblings
  44. I Don’t Want to Learn, I Want to Do | Nerdy Woman
  45. Talented | dandelionsinwind
  46. Too lazy to pursue | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  47. Practice Makes Perfect? | The Nameless One
  48. Practice Does Make It Perfect | mardmood
  49. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect | Ruminations & Observations…
  50. Talent | Arts View NC
  51. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | Moments Thru Lens
  52. Crochet… Practice makes perfect – The Sassy Pony Blog
  53. Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | Art! | reyoflight
  54. Faceplant! – Daily Prompt: Practice makes Perfect | Babsje Heron
8 thoughts on “Drawing and Painting

  1. If you’ve read some of the other blogs in response to today’s prompt, you’ll know that you are definitely not alone.

    And yes, you do have a talent for writing. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. Pingback: The Talent I Don’t Have :/ | The Arkside of Thought

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Talents | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Practice Makes Perfect? | Khana's Web

  6. Pingback: Do I really wish for talent? | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: Over Due | litadoolan

Leave a Reply

